top of page

Alba’s 8 month update! Her favs & food prep

Hello everyone! I haven’t done an updated post about Alba in awhile so I wanted to write this update and talk about a few things I get asked often.

Food

Alba drinks about 24-32oz of milk still but we feed her about 2 times a day! I was making her food from scratch (& probably will pick it back up) but Daniel broke all of her containers I kept it in haha! In the mean time we feed her Plum Organic packets! They’re by far the best I’ve seen with real ingredients, no added sugars, and she loves all of the flavors! We mix up all the flavors so she gets her greens, fruit, and any other colors so she tries everything and won’t get picky later on. Yogurt wise I get her chobani greek yogurt or whole milk greek yogurt since they don’t have any added sugars. You’d be amazed that I gave her infant yogurt and it had sugar in it! That’s how we found out she’s super sensitive to sugar because she didn’t nap for 2 days after eating that. I look at everything I buy to make sure there’s only natural sugar. We also started giving her these Gerber veggie puffs that don’t have added sugar! They’re easy for her to grab and safe enough to not choke on because she munches on them.

Alba can officially spoon feed herself! Still with a little of my help getting it on there but then I hand the spoon to her and she’s amazing! I will say yes it’s messy, but the only way she learned was by trying over and over again. The Plum pouches also helped because I’d give them to her and she’ll just eat on her own!

Daily schedule

Alba still eats through the night but only 1 6oz bottle at 11 then she’ll sleep until 7! She’s been on this new sleep routine that she’ll take 1-2 big 1.5/2hr naps during the day and stay up until 7-8pm then bottle and go to bed in her sleep suit (every mom needs one)! We give her a bath & helmet free time every night before bed and after we let her feed herself her food because that’s when we let her get messy. If we swim that day that will be her helmet free time!

Things she’s loving

If I'm going to be honest.. wooden spoons and empty water bottles haha!

We’ve gotten her some sensory toys and a walking toy recently. Her grandparents bought her this Walking toy that also jumps and she lovessss it! She jumps all crazy and she’ll be laughing so much! We also got her the basics- first block toy and stacking toy. One thing we still want to get her is a baby drum because she loves hitting on stuff and making noise so we think she’ll really love it. She also really likes these sensory ball set that comes with 4 different ones. I’ll post pics and link them all below!

FAQ’s

  • How long does she have to wear the helmet? -The Dr said max 3.5 months so before Thanksgiving it’ll be off!

  • Do you still make your own baby food? - I need to get back into it! My husband accidentally broke all of her glass jars that I would put it in so I need to get more haha.

  • Does the helmet bother her? -Not at all! The first day she would try taking it off but after that she was all good.

  • Is she crawling yet? -Not yet but she turns around on her tummy so I think crawling will come soon. I practice with her everyday!

  • Does she sleep through the night? -Not 100% she will wake up 1-2 times to eat. 1 time on a good night and we feed her 6oz of milk so I’m guessing that keeps her full and she’ll wake up around 7am.

Thank you for reading!

Xo, Natasha

bottom of page